Academic Calendar

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Academic Calendar"

Transcription

1 Academic Calendar Lake Michigan College has two semesters and an optional summer term. Fall and Spring semesters and Summer term are each fourteen (14) weeks. Each may offer a variety of class session lengths: fourteen (14) weeks, seven (7) weeks, and five (5) weeks; the summer term also offers ten (10)-week class sessions. Any course which is less than fourteen (14) weeks in length, except clinical-based courses, is taught in an accelerated format. This calendar is subject to change. Dates and events are added or updated as information becomes available. Date Day Fall 2016 Apr 11 Monday Fall 2016 registration begins Aug 31 Wednesday Late registration fee applies Aug 31 Sept 2 Wed-Fri Opening Days Sept 1 Thursday December Graduation Application available online Sept 3-5 Sat-Mon Labor Day Weekend - College closed Sept 6 Tuesday Classes begin Sept 13 Tuesday Last day to drop first 5, 7, or full 14-week courses with 100% Oct 3 Monday Last day to withdraw from first 5-week courses with Oct 9 Sunday First 5-week courses end Oct 10 Monday Spring 2017 registration begins Oct 10 Monday Middle 5-week courses start Oct 17 Monday Last day to drop middle 5-week courses with 100% Oct 17 Monday Last day to withdraw from first 7-week courses with Oct 24 Monday First 7-week courses end Oct 26 Wednesday Last 7-week courses begin Nov 2 Wednesday Last day to drop last 7-week courses with 100% Nov 7 Monday Last day to withdraw from middle 5-week courses with Nov 7 Monday Last day to withdraw from Summer 2016 Open Entry/Open Exit courses with Nov 10 Thursday Middle 5-week courses end Nov 11 Friday Last 5-week courses begin Nov 11 Friday December graduation application due Nov 18 Friday Last day to drop last 5-week courses with 100% Nov Wed-Sun Thanksgiving break - College closed Nov 28 Monday Last day to withdraw from full 14-week courses with

2 Fall 2016 dates continued: Nov 28 Monday Last day to withdraw from Open Entry/Defined Exit courses with Dec 4 Sunday Last day to add Fall 2016 Open Entry/Open Exit and Open Entry/Defined Exit courses Dec 5 Monday Last day to withdraw from last 7-week courses with Dec 5 Monday Last day to withdraw from last 5-week courses with Dec 18 Sunday Classes end Dec 20 Tuesday Grades due by 12:00 pm Dec 21 Wednesday Grades available online Dec 23 Jan 2, 2017 Friday - Monday Winter break - College closed Mar 27, 2017 Monday Last day to withdraw from Fall 2016 Open Entry/Open Exit courses with Date Day Spring 2017 Oct 10 Monday Spring 2017 registration begins Jan 3 Tuesday College Opens Jan 3 Tuesday May Graduation Application available online Health Science Candidacy Application online Jan 10 Tuesday Late registration fee applies Jan Wed-Fri Opening Days Jan 16 Monday MLK Day - College open, no classes Jan 17 Tuesday Classes begin for first 5, 7, and full 14-week courses Jan 24 Tuesday Last day to drop first 5, 7, or full 14-week courses with 100% Feb 1 Wednesday Health Science Candidacy List Application due for MRI and Sonography programs Feb 13 Monday Last day to withdraw from first 5 week-courses with Feb 16 Thursday Professional Development - College open, no classes Feb 19 Sunday First 5 week courses end Feb 20 Monday Middle 5-week classes begin Feb 27 Monday Last day to withdraw from first 7-week courses with Feb 27 Monday Last day to drop middle 5-week courses with 100% Feb 27 Monday May Graduation Application due Mar 6-12 Mon-Sun Spring Break - College open Mon-Fri, no classes

3 Spring 2017 dates continued: Mar 10 Friday Summer 2017 priority registration for Veterans begins Mar 13 Monday Summer 2017 traditional registration begins Mar 13 Monday First 7-week courses end Mar 17 Friday Last 7-week courses begin Mar 24 Friday Last day to drop last 7-week courses with 100% Mar 27 Monday Last day to withdraw from middle 5-week courses with Mar 27 Monday Last day to withdraw from Fall 2016 Open Entry/Open Exit courses with Apr 2 Sunday Middle 5-week courses end Apr 3 Monday Last 5-week courses begin Apr 13 Thursday Fall 2017 priority registration for Veterans begins Apr 17 Monday Fall 2017 traditional registration begins Apr 10 Monday Last day to drop last 5-week courses with 100% Apr Friday Sunday Spring Recess College closed Apr 17 Monday Last day to withdraw from full14-week courses with Apr 17 Monday Last day to withdraw from Open Entry/Defined Exit courses with Apr 23 Sunday Last day to add Spring 2017 Open Entry/Open Exit and Open Entry/Defined Exit courses Apr 24 Monday Last day to withdraw from last 7-week courses with May 1 Monday Last day to withdraw from last 5-week courses with May 5 Friday Graduation rehearsal May 6 Saturday Classes end May 7 Sunday Commencement at 2:00 p.m. May 9 Tuesday Grades due by 2:00 p.m. May 11 Thursday Grades available online May 12 Friday Health Science Candidacy List Application due for Nursing and Rad Tech programs July 17 Monday Last day to withdraw from Spring 2017 Open Entry/Open Exit courses with Date Day Summer 2017 Mar 10 Friday Summer 2017 priority registration for Veterans begins Mar 13 Monday Summer 2017 registration begins May 1 Monday Summer Graduation Application available online May 12 Friday Health Science Candidacy List Application due for Nursing and Rad Tech programs

4 Summer 2017 dates continued: May 15 Monday Classes begin for first 5, 7, 10, and full 14-week courses May 22 Monday Last day to drop first 5, 7, 10, and full 14-week Courses with 100% May Sat-Mon Memorial Day Weekend - College closed, no Classes June 12 Monday Last day to withdraw from first 5-week courses with June 12 Monday Last 10-week courses begin June 12 Monday Last day to withdraw from first 7-week courses with June 16 Friday Summer Graduation Application due June 19 Monday First 5-week courses end June 19 Monday Last day to drop last 10-week courses with 100% June 20 Tuesday Middle 5-week courses begin June 27 Tuesday Last day to drop middle 5-week courses with 100% July 1 Saturday First 7-week courses end July 3-4 Mon-Tues Independence Day Observed College closed, no classes July 5-9 Wed-Sun Break Week no classes College is open regular business hours July 5 Wednesday Grades due for first 5 & 7-week courses by 2:00 pm July 6 Thursday Grades available online July 10 Monday Last 7-week courses begin July 17 Monday Last day to drop last 7-week courses with 100% July 17 Monday Last day to withdraw from First 10 week and Spring 2017 Open Entry/Open Exit courses with a guaranteed W July 24 Monday Last 5-week courses begin July 24 Monday Last day to withdraw from middle 5-week courses with July 31 Monday Last day to drop last 5-week courses with 100% July 31 Monday First 10-week and middle 5-week courses end Aug 7 Monday Last day to withdraw from full 14-week courses with Aug 7 Monday Last day to withdraw from Open Entry/Defined Exit courses with Aug 13 Sunday Last day to add Summer 2017 Open Entry/Open Exit and Open Entry/Defined Exit courses Aug 14 Monday Last day to withdraw from last 7 and 10-week courses with Aug 21 Monday Last day to withdraw from last 5-week courses with a guaranteed W

5 Summer 2017 dates continued: Aug 26 Saturday Classes end Aug 29 Tuesday Grades due by 2:00 p.m. Aug 31 Thursday Grades available online Nov 6 Monday Last day to withdraw from Summer 2017 Open Entry/Open Exit courses with