Review the entire lesson plan in advance so you are prepared to lead and discuss comfortably. Adjust the suggested time allotments as necessary.

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Review the entire lesson plan in advance so you are prepared to lead and discuss comfortably. Adjust the suggested time allotments as necessary."

Transcription

1 BODY BUILDING Your group will unite through a service project at your church. This night will focus primarily on the Catholic Social Teaching Theme: A Call to Family, Community, and Participation. Review the entire lesson plan in advance so you are prepared to lead and discuss comfortably. Adjust the suggested time allotments as necessary. Time Section Session 10 minutes CONNECT Participants consider their areas of giftedness and create service-team posters. 65 minutes DISCUSS Gather for an evening of community service at the church. The teamwork and sense of accomplishment through seeing the finished product is an important part of this night s success. Conclude with discussion about the activity. 10 minutes COMMIT Challenge participants to continue to serve others. Close in prayer. Bible Poster Board Markers Masking Tape Supplies required to perform the service Participant Sheets Snacks Water Camera 1

2 Consider having group members RSVP to your event so you can plan your projects and supplies accordingly. Try to use the communication tools that work best for your group, such as texting or a private event page. If your large group is 25 people, one project may be sufficient. If your large group gathering consists of 100+ people, consider including multiple projects on your campus or extend service to an entire day of work in your community. Plan how you will break up work teams if you have a large group. You might choose a random method, such as having everyone choose a color-coded card, to support more diverse interaction. Take before and after pictures of your project space. Send photos to each of the members in your group with a simple note stating: Thank you! God is working through you! If you are able, have the pastor sign and send the notes with the picture for even more impact. You could also post them to your social media page or website. For this night to be successful, planning and preparation needs to take place ahead of time. Contact your priest or a staff member to determine a service need that can be accomplished during your group s meeting time. Here are some ideas: o Give the cleaning staff the night off and have your group do the cleaning. o Change out the missals during a change in the liturgical season. o Decorate the church or parish property for an event or liturgical season. o Cook and prepare breakfast burritos to sell after Mass; then give the profits to a ministry at the church or a community nonprofit organization. o Freshen the landscaping around the church. o Paint classrooms or hallways. Assign one or two adults to serve as project managers. These individuals will be available throughout the service project time to answer questions, provide guidance, and troubleshoot problems that may arise. When advertising for your large group experience night, remind people what they need to bring (gloves, shovels, hammers ) to be successful in the service, and be sure to have extras on hand for those who come at the last minute or with a friend. 2

3 ONE WEEK PRIOR: Contact the person in charge of the ministry or area in the parish that you ll be serving to confirm plans. Contact other adults as needed if certain expertise is required for the successful completion of your project. Provide adult leaders with a Work Order Sheet, signifying specific instructions on the group service project they will be overseeing. Gather necessary supplies. SEVERAL DAYS PRIOR: Text, tweet, and/or update your group s social media page to remind participants about the service night and what they need to bring. THE DAY OF THE SERVICE: Go over the supply list one last time and confirm that all supplies have been purchased. Arrive at the church early to survey the work to be done, set out and prepare supplies, greet participants as they arrive, and form work teams prior to heading out for service detail. Discipleship is about more than discussing the faith and participating in a small group. Discipleship requires learning from the example of a rabbi in this case, the participants learn from your daily example. It is healthy for your group to do regular, everyday activities together because they will learn from your example and the example of their peers. As they grow in fellowship and deeper friendship through these activities, they will grow as disciples. SAY: Thank you all for coming to serve the community of this parish today! We are going to be the hands and feet of Christ in the world. As each has received a gift, employ it for one another, as good stewards of God s varied grace. 1 Peter 4:10 3

4 SAY: Let s begin in prayer. Begin with the sign of the Cross. Then ask for a volunteer to read aloud 1 Peter 4:8-11. PRAY: Lord, we invite You to guide our service today. May we unite as a group in Your love and serve in the spirit of that love. We thank You for our parish, our group, and our time together today. May our actions bring You glory. Glory be to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end. Amen. OR Ask one of the participants to open the meeting with a prayer. Take some time to allow a priest, parish staff member, or large group facilitator to explain what service projects are on the agenda. This would be the time to go over any safety tips, guidelines, and goals for the gathering. Afterward, have everyone form work teams and gather for this five-minute activity: Choose one person from your team to come up and gather supplies to make a poster. Together, come up with a team name and write it on the poster board. Decorate your poster by writing words or drawing pictures that represent the talents or characteristics that each person in your team will contribute tonight. Display your poster as your team works together to serve our church and community. Allow five minutes for each team to create a poster. Suggest ideas such as team leader, supply person, runner, etc. Each of you possesses unique talents and abilities that you bring to your team. Some of you may be great at hands-on projects, while others of you may be amazing at offering words of encouragement. Whatever you bring to the table, know that each of you has been given unique abilities that can be used to serve God in your church and community. Allow time for questions that participants may have about their specific project. Have at least one adult leader serve with each service project team. 4

5 Take photos of each team making their posters and during the service project. Group the photos by team name when you post them on your parish website or social media page. After your prep time, send teams off to their service project site areas. Have water available throughout the evening, and let participants know when you ll gather to wrap-up. If it seems that the service will not be completed during the time allotted, touch base with the team and see if they want to extend the project, come back another day, or find a good stopping point so that another group can easily pick up where they left off. Make sure that part of your service time together includes cleanup. Whatever area your team is serving in, leave the area cleaner than when you arrived. This is also an act of service! DISCUSS Take some time to reflect on the service done in light of the Catholic Social Teaching Theme: Call to Family, Community, and Participation. SAY: Our Faith asks us to work together in service to God, our church, our community, and our world. When we serve others, we are showing Christ s love in a unique and hands-on way by being the hands, feet, and smile of Jesus. Today you all did a great job working together, using your gifts and talents to serve our church and community! Take a few minutes to talk about your experience by discussing the following questions with your service team: What would the world be like without families and communities? Why is community important to you? What did this experience teach you about serving with others on a team? What is at least one way you can continue to serve others in the upcoming week? 5

6 As you begin to make a commitment to serving others in your community, check out the ideas on your Participant Sheets to help you along the way: Discover Your Gifts: There are a variety of assessments you can take to discover your talents, gifts, and abilities. When you figure out what you re good at, it will help you decide in what areas you d like to serve. Here are some links to free spiritual gifts inventories: o o Make a Commitment: Research places where you can volunteer in your community on a regular basis, and then contact a volunteer coordinator and make a regular commitment of serving. Consider places such as a local elementary school, homeless shelter, hospice or nursing home, your local parish, or a crisis pregnancy center. Consider your gifts, talents, and abilities and where they can best be utilized in your community. Research the Call: Read through the Catholic Church s Call to Family, Community, and Participation (found at Meditate and reflect on the verses provided, and consider what this call means for your life. At the end of the meeting, ask one of the participants to close the evening in prayer. PRAY: Embracing Father, You grace each of us with equal measure in your love. Let us learn to love our neighbors more deeply, so that we can create peaceful and just communities. Inspire us to use our creative energies to build the structures we need to overcome the obstacles of intolerance and indifference. May Jesus provide us the example needed and send the Spirit to warm our hearts for the journey. Amen. From Being Neighbor: The Catechism and Social Justice, USCCB, April

7 BODY BUILDING PARTICIPANT SHEET As each has received a gift, employ it for one another, as good stewards of God s varied grace. 1 Peter 4:10 How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world. Anne Frank, Diary of a Young Girl Our faith asks us to work together in service to God, our church, our community, and our world. When we serve others, we are showing Christ s love in a unique and handson way by being the hands, feet, and smile of Jesus. Take a few minutes to consider the following questions: What would the world be like without families and communities? Why is community important to you? 1

8 What did this experience teach you about serving with others on a team? What is at least one way you can continue to serve others in the upcoming week? As you begin to make a commitment to serving others in your community, try these ideas to help you along the way: Discover Your Gifts: There are a variety of assessments you can take to discover your talents, gifts, and abilities. When you figure out what you re good at, it will help you decide in what areas you d like to serve. Here are some links to free spiritual gifts inventories: Make a Commitment: Research places where you can volunteer in your community on a regular basis, and then contact a volunteer coordinator and make a regular commitment of serving. Consider places such as a local elementary school, homeless shelter, hospice or nursing home, your local parish, or a crisis pregnancy center. Consider your gifts, talents, and abilities and where they can best be utilized in your community. Research the Call: Read through the Catholic Church s Call to Family, Community, and Participation (found at Meditate and reflect on the verses provided, and consider what this call means for your life. 2

9 As you embrace serving others in your community this week, make this your prayer: Embracing Father, You grace each of us with equal measure in your love. Let us learn to love our neighbors more deeply, so that we can create peaceful and just communities. Inspire us to use our creative energies to build the structures we need to overcome the obstacles of intolerance and indifference. May Jesus provide us the example needed and send the Spirit to warm our hearts for the journey. Amen. from Being Neighbor: The Catechism and Social Justice, USCCB, April

10 BODY BUILDING PARENT SHEET Every YDisciple session has three parts: CONNECT, DISCUSS, and COMMIT. The CONNECT section is designed to build trust, transparency, and community in the group. The DISCUSS section introduces topics of the faith, engages critical thinking, and facilitates valuable conversation. And the COMMIT section helps students take ownership of their faith and put it into practice. Use this Parent Sheet to take a glimpse at our most recent session so you can have a follow-up conversation with your teenager about his/her experience in the small group and encourage spiritual growth. Teens got to experience hands-on service at our Formation Session. We made ourselves useful at our very own church, putting our gifts and talents to work and learning the value of Christians coming together to serve alongside each other in Christ s name. What does it mean to serve? A recent national survey found that 93 percent of young people today want to serve and volunteer in their communities. Our hearts are wired for service, and teens especially recognize the value of volunteerism. Young people today are looking for opportunities where they can work with their peers and build relationships as they do good for others in their communities. Here are some conversation starters for this week. Remember to share your perspectives as well. What opportunities do you observe for volunteering in your church or community? What gifts or talents do you recognize in yourself? How can you use these to serve others? As a family, how can you serve each other? How or where can you serve together in your church or community? And how could that effort help you unify as a family? 1

11 Teens were challenged to continue serving others in the community, with these ideas to help along the way: Discover Your Gifts: There are a variety of assessments you can take to discover your talents, gifts, and abilities. When you figure out what you re good at, it will help you decide in what areas you d like to serve. Here are some links to free spiritual gifts inventories: Make a Commitment: Research places where you can volunteer in your community on a regular basis, and then contact a volunteer coordinator and make a regular commitment of serving. Consider places such as a local elementary school, homeless shelter, hospice or nursing home, your local parish, or a crisis pregnancy center. Consider your gifts, talents, and abilities and where they can best be utilized in your community. Research the Call: Read through the Catholic Church s Call to Family, Community, and Participation (found at Meditate and reflect on the verses provided, and consider what this call means for your life. We can do no great things, only small things with great love. Blessed Teresa of Calcutta Consider having all members of your family take one of the Spiritual Gifts inventories above, and discuss the results. They can be fun and enlightening! 2

Teen Peer Ministry Formation Program Manual

Teen Peer Ministry Formation Program Manual Session 1 & Initial Retreat Handouts - Make Up Assignment By missing the initial retreat, you also missed an awesome slide show on what it means to be a Teen Peer Minister, fun games, delicious food, the

More information

Small Groups Top Tips

Small Groups Top Tips Small Groups Top Tips How do I handle typical issues that arise in my group? You may be asking, What about this? What about that? I don t how to handle (you fill in the blank!)? Read-on to get some ideas

More information

Stepping up. FamilyLife Publishing. a call to courageous manhood. host guide. video event. written by tim grissom and john majors

Stepping up. FamilyLife Publishing. a call to courageous manhood. host guide. video event. written by tim grissom and john majors host guide Stepping up a call to courageous manhood video event written by tim grissom and john majors FamilyLife Publishing Little Rock, Arkansas Contents - Getting Started 3 Promoting the Event 6 Church

More information

HONOR & MEMORY GIFTS LaVista Road n Decatur, Georgia Church Office n

HONOR & MEMORY GIFTS LaVista Road n Decatur, Georgia Church Office n HONOR & MEMORY GIFTS Imagine the joy your family and friends will feel when they know that you have given a gift in their honor that has eternal value providing for God s work through Briarlake Church.

More information

Strategic Plan

Strategic Plan Strategic Plan 2015 2019 1 Sacred Heart Catholic School Strategic Plan 2015 2019 Approved and Adopted by the Sacred Heart Catholic School Board Bishop Peter Christensen Bishop of the Roman Catholic Diocese

More information

SCHOOL PLANTING & DEVELOPMENT RESOURCE

SCHOOL PLANTING & DEVELOPMENT RESOURCE SCHOOL PLANTING & DEVELOPMENT RESOURCE KEYS TO DEVELOPING SCHOOL OUTREACH Note: This resource was adapted from the School Planting & Development Administrator s Manual. What is outreach? A school s outreach

More information

Possibility Thinking and Reflective Thinking

Possibility Thinking and Reflective Thinking Possibility Thinking and Reflective Thinking Then Caleb quieted the people before Moses and said, Let us go up at once and take possession, for we are well able to overcome it. Numbers 13:30 Feel the Energy

More information

British Library Cataloguing-in-Publication Data: a catalogue record of this book is available from the British Library.

British Library Cataloguing-in-Publication Data: a catalogue record of this book is available from the British Library. Resource Book Copyright Scripture Union First published 2017 ISBN 978 1 78506 568 2 All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any

More information

PRODUCTION TEAM TRAINING GUIDE

PRODUCTION TEAM TRAINING GUIDE PRODUCTION TEAM TRAINING GUIDE TABLE OF CONTENTS PRODUCTION TEAM... 2 SUNDAY SCHEDULE... 4 GENERAL TEAM INFORMATION... 5 PRODUCTION TEAM TRAINING GUIDE PRODUCTION TEAM TEAM VISION Create excellent, distraction-free

More information

Strategic Plan

Strategic Plan Strategic Plan 2007-2012 Sacred Heart Catholic School Strategic Plan 2007 2012 Approved and Adopted by the Sacred Heart Catholic School Board Bishop Michael Driscoll Bishop of the Roman Catholic Diocese

More information

Discovering Christ Team Roles and Descriptions

Discovering Christ Team Roles and Descriptions Main Leader The main leader provides spiritual leadership for the entire Discovering Christ team and the participants. Ideally they will have overall responsibility for the entire ChristLife process. A

More information

CONDUCT A DISCOVERY MEETING

CONDUCT A DISCOVERY MEETING CONDUCT A DISCOVERY MEETING A well-planned and publicized discovery meeting helps you recruit participants for your project, address the purpose of missions, and introduce students and parents to IMB and

More information

Foundations for Christ-Centered Biblical Counseling

Foundations for Christ-Centered Biblical Counseling Foundations for Christ-Centered Biblical Counseling Christ-Centered Biblical Counseling Training Course, Module 1 Community Bible Church Associate Pastor Andrew Arcilla I. COURSE DESCRIPTION The purpose

More information

MAKE YOUR DIFFERENCE. A DISCOVERY GUIDE FOR: Des Moines Christian School

MAKE YOUR DIFFERENCE. A DISCOVERY GUIDE FOR: Des Moines Christian School MAKE YOUR DIFFERENCE A DISCOVERY GUIDE FOR: Des Moines Christian School In 1948, Des Moines Christian School opened its doors to 15 students. Since then, we have prayed for, equipped and sent more than

More information

END TIMES Series Overview for Leaders

END TIMES Series Overview for Leaders END TIMES Series Overview for Leaders SERIES OVERVIEW We have a sense of anticipation about Christ s return. We know he s coming back, but we don t know exactly when. The differing opinions about the End

More information

Mission and Teamwork Paul Stanley

Mission and Teamwork Paul Stanley Mission and Teamwork Paul Stanley Introduction: A. The military is downsizing and this presents opportunities. 1. Some are taking second careers. 2. We need to adjust with this movement in order to keep

More information

NEWSLETTER NOVEMBER Imperial Road South, Guelph, Ontario, N1K 1Z4 Phone: (519) , Fax: (519) Attendance Line: (519)

NEWSLETTER NOVEMBER Imperial Road South, Guelph, Ontario, N1K 1Z4 Phone: (519) , Fax: (519) Attendance Line: (519) NEWSLETTER NOVEMBER 2012 287 Imperial Road South, Guelph, Ontario, N1K 1Z4 Phone: (519) 821-9160, Fax: (519) 821-5296 Attendance Line: (519) 821-9169 November News YEAR OF FAITH BEGAN ON OCTOBER 14 TH

More information

Mentoring Servant Leaders Copyright 2009 by LeaderTreks. Published by LeaderTreks 25W560 Geneva Road, Suite 30, Carol Stream, IL 60188

Mentoring Servant Leaders Copyright 2009 by LeaderTreks. Published by LeaderTreks 25W560 Geneva Road, Suite 30, Carol Stream, IL 60188 Mentoring Servant Leaders Copyright 2009 by LeaderTreks All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted, in any form or by any means electronic,

More information

REPORTS TO: The Presbytery of Sacramento through the Personnel Committee and the Council of the Presbytery.

REPORTS TO: The Presbytery of Sacramento through the Personnel Committee and the Council of the Presbytery. TITLE: Interim General Presbyter Presbytery of Sacramento Interim General Presbyter Job Description Interim for 2015-2016 Proposed by Personnel Committee March 26, 2015 Approved by Council April 1, 2015

More information

The Leader s Time: Tick Tock, Manage the Clock How to Steward Time and Manage Opportunities

The Leader s Time: Tick Tock, Manage the Clock How to Steward Time and Manage Opportunities i, The Leader s Time: Tick Tock, Manage the Clock The Leader s Time: Tick Tock, Manage the Clock How to Steward Time and Manage Opportunities Trainer introduction: 1. This course was originally designed

More information

Inspection date Wednesday 20 th May Mrs Pam Macro. Inspection carried out in accordance with Section 48 of the Education Act 2005 URN

Inspection date Wednesday 20 th May Mrs Pam Macro. Inspection carried out in accordance with Section 48 of the Education Act 2005 URN Department for Formation, Office for Education Telephone: 0161 817 2204 Fax: 0161 372 9991 INSPECTION REPORT Email: education@dioceseofsalford.org.uk St Mary s RC Primary School, Clayton-le-Moors, Accrington,

More information

UNDER AGE 18 TEEN VOLUNTEER PERMISSION SLIP

UNDER AGE 18 TEEN VOLUNTEER PERMISSION SLIP UNDER AGE 18 TEEN VOLUNTEER PERMISSION SLIP Thank you for enabling your child to volunteer at Our Lady of Mercy this year. As a volunteer, your teenager will be responsible and instrumental in the success

More information

Acknowledgment MENTOR GUIDE

Acknowledgment MENTOR GUIDE Acknowledgment The Mentor Guide is based on the Adventure Buddy Handbook by Wayne Sneed and Charlotte Peck of Orphanos Foundation. We gratefully acknowledge their contribution to The Next Mile. For further

More information

EMMANUEL CHRISTIAN SCHOOL

EMMANUEL CHRISTIAN SCHOOL EMMANUEL CHRISTIAN SCHOOL STRATEGIC PLAN 2013 to 2018 A Plan to live out Emmanuel s Vision through Christ-Centeredness and Academic Excellence February 2013 Table of Contents Vision Statement... 2 The

More information

File 38 VBS 2015 JOTM Training Teens to Work in VBS

File 38 VBS 2015 JOTM Training Teens to Work in VBS Ministry can be difficult, and an event like VBS can require an all hands on deck kind of initiative. Most churches, of any size, need to use the older youth as assistants, or even major players, in their

More information

Team Member Assessment Tool

Team Member Assessment Tool Team Member Assessment Tool Assess Your Team Members Commitment and Engagement based on The 7 Ways Healthy Team Members Engage exclusively for... insiders Worship Team Member Engagement & Commitment Assessment

More information

Catholic School Improvement Learning Cycle

Catholic School Improvement Learning Cycle DUFFERIN PEEL CATHOLIC DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD Catholic School Improvement Learning Cycle 2017 2018 Lester B. Pearson Catholic Elementary School MISSION STATEMENT Religious Education, through liturgies,

More information

TGIFNightTM Vespers Planning Guide Format & Activities This guide has been designed as a resource to help youth leaders and others provide organized casual vespers programs, and is intended for reference

More information

VBS 2018 CHILDREN S CRAFTS ROTATION BASE CONFERENCE PLAN (2 HOURS)

VBS 2018 CHILDREN S CRAFTS ROTATION BASE CONFERENCE PLAN (2 HOURS) VBS 2018 Children s Crafts Rotation Base Conference Plan 1 VBS 2018 CHILDREN S CRAFTS ROTATION BASE CONFERENCE PLAN (2 HOURS) Purpose Statement This two-hour plan is designed to train and equip VBS craft

More information

SECOND BAPTIST CHURCH

SECOND BAPTIST CHURCH SECOND BAPTIST CHURCH GO THEREFORE AND MAKE DISCIPLES OF ALL NATIONS, BAPTIZING THEM IN THE NAME OF THE FATHER, AND THE SON AND THE HOLY SPIRIT, TEACHING THEM TO OBSERVE ALL THAT I HAVE COMMANDED YOU;

More information

Westside Co-op. "As each one has received a gift, minister it to one another, as good stewards of the manifold grace of God.

Westside Co-op. As each one has received a gift, minister it to one another, as good stewards of the manifold grace of God. Westside Co-op "As each one has received a gift, minister it to one another, as good stewards of the manifold grace of God." I Peter 4:10 Welcome! We sincerely thank you for your interest in Westside Co-op

More information

Is God Really With Us?

Is God Really With Us? Is God Really With Us? Exodus 17:1-7 Session 9.40 Before the Session Facilitator: In advance of the session Review today s scripture text and the session activities to help better facilitate the discussion.

More information

FELLOWS PROGRAM MENTOR S HANDBOOK

FELLOWS PROGRAM MENTOR S HANDBOOK FELLOWS PROGRAM MENTOR S HANDBOOK TABLE OF CONTENTS Description of the C.S. Lewis Institute Fellows Program 3 Thank You for Volunteering to Serve as a Mentor 4 Spiritual Mentor Profile 5 C. S. Lewis Institute

More information

INTERNSHIPS AT SOMA Soma Church Internship Guide Spring 2016

INTERNSHIPS AT SOMA Soma Church Internship Guide Spring 2016 INTERNSHIPS AT SOMA INTERNSHIP OVERVIEW Soma Church exists to the see the gospel transform Indianapolis. Our church began in 2012 on the north side of Indy, and has quickly grown to become a family of

More information

If you desire to apply to either of these schools you will need to download the following forms: Application 3 Reference Forms

If you desire to apply to either of these schools you will need to download the following forms: Application 3 Reference Forms Dear Potential Student, Greetings in the Lord!!! Thank you for your interest in our school. For detailed information on our Distance Learning programs you can visit www.calvarychapelbiblecollege.com and

More information

Lydia. (Acts 16:11-15) Spark Resources: Spark Story Bibles, Supplies: Purple construction paper, tape

Lydia. (Acts 16:11-15) Spark Resources: Spark Story Bibles, Supplies: Purple construction paper, tape MUSIC LEADER GUIDE Lydia (Acts 16:11-15) Age-Level Overview Age-Level Overview Open the Bible Activate Faith Lower Elementary Workshop Focus: I can listen to and share what Jesus says. Megaphone Mania!

More information

For use with the Community: Starting Well In Your Small Group Participant Guide and DVD 2012 NORTH POINT MINISTRIES, INC.

For use with the Community: Starting Well In Your Small Group Participant Guide and DVD 2012 NORTH POINT MINISTRIES, INC. For use with the Community: Starting Well In Your Small Group Participant Guide and DVD USING THE COMMUNITY: STARTING WELL GUIDE In most DVD studies, the participant guide contains a summary of the content

More information

Spirit-Filled Scholarship

Spirit-Filled Scholarship Spirit-Filled Scholarship FOUNDATIONS FOR CHRISTIAN SCHOLARS WEEK TWO LEADER S GUIDE IN THIS GUIDE 1. Tips for leading this week s meeting. 2. True Fellowship LEADING THE MEETING W E E K T W O FOU ND AT

More information

Lesson 10 Bible Basis: Acts 25:13 26:32; Matthew 10:16 20

Lesson 10 Bible Basis: Acts 25:13 26:32; Matthew 10:16 20 / February 4, 2018 Excited to Share Focus: Share what Jesus has done for you. Bible Basis: Acts 25:13 26:32; Matthew 10:16 20 By Anne Love Memory Verse: At that time you will be given what to say, for

More information

Bonus Weekend Depart August 18 th 5:00 pm from KC, depart for KC at 11:00 am, Sunday August 20th

Bonus Weekend Depart August 18 th 5:00 pm from KC, depart for KC at 11:00 am, Sunday August 20th Program Guide 2017 It starts with a calling. A God placed conviction that you are a part of a bigger world and part of your purpose is to lead others in their faith journey and their personal trek to places

More information

St. Mary Cathedral Parish & School

St. Mary Cathedral Parish & School Parish School Governance St. Mary Cathedral Parish & School School Advisory Council Constitution Approved by Parish Pastoral Council April 25, 2014 -i- Constitution of the St. Mary Cathedral School Advisory

More information

Principal Breakfast. Annunciation School October 6, The Lord your God is with you wherever you go Joshua 1:9

Principal Breakfast. Annunciation School October 6, The Lord your God is with you wherever you go Joshua 1:9 Principal Breakfast Annunciation School October 6, 2017 The Lord your God is with you wherever you go Joshua 1:9 Prayer for Annunciation Catholic School Heavenly Father, We prayer you for the gift of Annunciation

More information

What is Wheaton Academy s approach to education? What do we expect from our students and their families? School Philosophy & Family Expectations

What is Wheaton Academy s approach to education? What do we expect from our students and their families? School Philosophy & Family Expectations What is Wheaton Academy s approach to education? What do we expect from our students and their families? School Philosophy & Family Expectations Wheaton Academy Philosophy Partnership The mission of Wheaton

More information

LEADERSHIPLAB PRODUCE & RELEASE FOR LIFE. knowledge character skill passion / vision

LEADERSHIPLAB PRODUCE & RELEASE FOR LIFE. knowledge character skill passion / vision LEADERSHIPLAB PRODUCE & RELEASE FOR LIFE knowledge character skill passion / vision THE LAB EXPERIENCE Table of Contents Prework...3 BiLD Training Center...4 Leadership Lab Objective...5 Leader Profile...9

More information

with DVD Teen Curriculum stickyfaith Dr. Kara E. Powell 10 lessons to nurture faith beyond high school Brad M. Griffin

with DVD Teen Curriculum stickyfaith Dr. Kara E. Powell 10 lessons to nurture faith beyond high school Brad M. Griffin Teen Curriculum with DVD stickyfaith 10 lessons to nurture faith beyond high school Dr. Kara E. Powell Brad M. Griffin ZONDERVAN Sticky Faith Teen Curriculum Copyright 2011 by Kara E. Powell and Brad M.

More information

Visit to Haiti Standing with Haiti At the Outreach Mission House

Visit to Haiti Standing with Haiti At the Outreach Mission House Visit to Haiti 2015 November, 2015: St. Anthony's Delegate Team, led by our Pastor, Fr. Jack, traveled on its mission to visit Ste. Anne's Parish to maintain and foster the already established relationship

More information

MARIST CATHOLIC COLLEGE PENSHURST MINISTRY PLAN 2015 AND BEYOND

MARIST CATHOLIC COLLEGE PENSHURST MINISTRY PLAN 2015 AND BEYOND MARIST CATHOLIC COLLEGE PENSHURST MINISTRY PLAN 2015 AND BEYOND Mission Statement At Marist Catholic College Penshurst we support and respect the individual talents of all our students, encouraging all

More information

RAISING FINANCIALLY FREED-UP KIDS FACILITATOR S GUIDE A PERSONAL NOTE

RAISING FINANCIALLY FREED-UP KIDS FACILITATOR S GUIDE A PERSONAL NOTE 1 RAISING FINANCIALLY FREED-UP KIDS FACILITATOR S GUIDE A PERSONAL NOTE Thank you for your willingness to facilitate this workshop. We believe this resource can be life-changing for both parents and children.

More information

STU 298: MISSIONAL INTERNSHIPS

STU 298: MISSIONAL INTERNSHIPS STU 298: MISSIONAL INTERNSHIPS Converge Course: A Training Course for Youth With A Mission Sponsored Internships A program of the Student Mobilization Centre, an interdisciplinary learning centre of the

More information

Chuck Swindoll uses four Bible study methods every time he prepares a message:

Chuck Swindoll uses four Bible study methods every time he prepares a message: LET S BEGIN HERE Three back-to-back commands appear toward the end of the letter to the Hebrews. It is a message for all believers, regardless of our location or situation: Let us think of ways to motivate

More information

Legacy High School Boundary Articulation

Legacy High School Boundary Articulation Legacy High School Boundary Articulation St. Sebastian School January 30, 2017 7:00 9:00 pm January 30, 2017 1 Welcome & Opening Prayer Heavenly Father, We come you today asking for your guidance, wisdom,

More information

Team Leader Training. Support Raising

Team Leader Training. Support Raising Team Leader Training Support Raising Fund Raising. Many team leaders cringe at the very mention of the word. As if recruiting, training, and mobilizing a group to travel hundreds - if not thousands- of

More information

Catholic School Improvement Learning Cycle

Catholic School Improvement Learning Cycle DUFFERIN PEEL CATHOLIC DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD Catholic School Improvement Learning Cycle 2017 2018 St. Jude Separate School MISSION STATEMENT The staff and students at St. Jude School Catholic Elementary

More information

School of Saint Mary. Athletic Handbook. Principal Maureen Clements. Athletic Director Kent Gilliam

School of Saint Mary. Athletic Handbook. Principal Maureen Clements. Athletic Director Kent Gilliam School of Saint Mary Athletic Handbook Principal Maureen Clements Athletic Director Kent Gilliam 1 Athletic Handbook This handbook establishes procedures and guidelines for parents, coaches and athletes

More information

Catholic Social Teaching. Reflection Journal

Catholic Social Teaching. Reflection Journal Reflection Journal The questions contained in this journal are designed to help you reflect on the big question and what you have learnt about the Catholic social teaching principles through the Caritas

More information

THE DANIEL PRAYER PRAYER THAT MOVES HEAVEN AND CHANGES NATIONS FACILITATOR S GUIDE SIX SESSIONS ANNE GRAHAM LOTZ

THE DANIEL PRAYER PRAYER THAT MOVES HEAVEN AND CHANGES NATIONS FACILITATOR S GUIDE SIX SESSIONS ANNE GRAHAM LOTZ THE DANIEL PRAYER PRAYER THAT MOVES HEAVEN AND CHANGES NATIONS FACILITATOR S GUIDE SIX SESSIONS ANNE GRAHAM LOTZ ZONDERVAN The Daniel Prayer Facilitator s Guide Copyright 2017 by Anne Graham Lotz Requests

More information

ROOT. Overnight Overlay

ROOT. Overnight Overlay ROOT Overnight Overlay Taking Root Overnight Overlay This guide outlines ideas and suggestions for using the Taking Root curriculum to create an overnight/lock-in experience for Junior High or High School

More information

Planning a FIRST LEGO League Jr. Expo

Planning a FIRST LEGO League Jr. Expo Planning a FIRST LEGO League Jr. Expo What is an Expo? The culminating event for the FIRST LEGO League Jr. program is an Expo. An Expo provides team members with an opportunity to showcase what they have

More information

September Father of Light and Wisdom, thank you for giving me a mind that can know and a heart that can love.

September Father of Light and Wisdom, thank you for giving me a mind that can know and a heart that can love. September 2017 Father of Light and Wisdom, thank you for giving me a mind that can know and a heart that can love. Help me to keep learning every day of my life-- no matter what the subject may be. Let

More information

LEADER GUIDE INCLUDES:

LEADER GUIDE INCLUDES: E q uippi n g Y ou r P eop l e t o B e t h e C h u r c h i n E v e ryday Li f e Activating God Space leads churches step by step through the culture shift from an inward to an outward focus. Six encouraging

More information

BE A LEADER Week 1: Inner Qualities of Leaders 1. LEADER PREPARATION

BE A LEADER Week 1: Inner Qualities of Leaders 1. LEADER PREPARATION BE A LEADER Week 1: Inner Qualities of Leaders This includes: 1. Leader Preparation 2. Lesson Guide 1. LEADER PREPARATION LESSON OVERVIEW One of the greatest leaders in Scripture is Moses. God selected

More information

B E C A U S E Y O U W E R E M A D E F O R M O R E J E N N I E A L L E N

B E C A U S E Y O U W E R E M A D E F O R M O R E J E N N I E A L L E N R E S T L E S S LEAD B E C A U S E Y O U W E R E M A D E F O R M O R E J E N N I E A L L E N 2013 Jennie Allen All rights reserved. No portion of this book may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system,

More information

School Newsletter May 4, 2018 Weekly Edition. Principal s Message

School Newsletter May 4, 2018 Weekly Edition. Principal s Message School Newsletter May 4, 2018 Weekly Edition Principal s Message Sunday s Coming Sometimes a week seems to drag by. As the week unfolds, news of some kind may come our way. Sometimes the news is good and

More information

Dear Students, Parents, Teachers and Friends:

Dear Students, Parents, Teachers and Friends: ST. MARY S SCHOOL Our Mission: Brought together by faith, St. Mary s School is a Franciscan family welcoming and inspiring all to love, live, learn and serve as Christ taught us. Inside this issue: Parish

More information

ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURE

ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURE Page 1 of 6 1. Purpose As a Catholic Community, it is our purpose to create communities of peace which respect individuality and celebrate harmony. Schools within the Catholic District School Board of

More information

Building Upon the Sermon Questions or Other Group Lessons (Overview)

Building Upon the Sermon Questions or Other Group Lessons (Overview) Building Upon the Sermon Questions or Other Group Lessons (Overview) The following is a truth we need to understand as group leaders. Every study is developed with a general group in mind, not yours specifically.

More information

Strategic Plan Strategic Initiatives for Discipleship I Scholarship I Stewardship

Strategic Plan Strategic Initiatives for Discipleship I Scholarship I Stewardship Strategic Plan for 2016-2017 Discipleship I Scholarship I Stewardship September, 2016 for 2016-2017 2 Vision Catholic schools in the Algonquin and Lakeshore Catholic District School Board inspire and nurture

More information

Annual Mass of Thanksgiving

Annual Mass of Thanksgiving November 10, 2017 Volume 7, Issue 12 C o r p u s C h r i s t i C a t h o l i c S c h o o l Important Dates 11/16 Fall Concert 7 pm 11/17 School Council 11/22-24 Thanksgiving Break 12/01 Geography Bee 2:00

More information

British Library Cataloguing-in-Publication Data: a catalogue record of this book is available from the British Library.

British Library Cataloguing-in-Publication Data: a catalogue record of this book is available from the British Library. Resource Book Copyright Scripture Union First published 2017 ISBN 978 1 78506 567 5 All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any

More information

Winning Hearts and Minds for Christ One School s Journey

Winning Hearts and Minds for Christ One School s Journey Winning Hearts and Minds for Christ One School s Journey What is a Christian School? Meriden isn t: a parent-controlled Christian School a member of the Christian School Association a school where the

More information

10 Keys to Your First Presentation

10 Keys to Your First Presentation 10 Keys to Your First Presentation Show and tell is something you may remember from your early school years, but it s also a way to describe 4-H presentations. This resource has been written to help you

More information

Answering the Call. Joining the Christian Healing Ministry, Starting a Chapter & Becoming an Ambassador of God

Answering the Call. Joining the Christian Healing Ministry, Starting a Chapter & Becoming an Ambassador of God Answering the Call Joining the Christian Healing Ministry, Starting a Chapter & Becoming an Ambassador of God ANSWER THE CALL! Every Christian has, at some point, wrestled in prayer against the illness

More information

CATHOLIC YOUTH ORGANIZATION BROOKLYN DIOCESE NEWSLETTER Volume 1 Issue IV - WINTER 2017

CATHOLIC YOUTH ORGANIZATION BROOKLYN DIOCESE NEWSLETTER Volume 1 Issue IV - WINTER 2017 CATHOLIC YOUTH ORGANIZATION BROOKLYN DIOCESE NEWSLETTER Volume 1 Issue IV - WINTER 2017 Welcome Dear Friends of the Catholic Youth Organization: As you know, the CYO serves the youth of our Diocese, with

More information

Arizona Christian University UNIVERSITY STRATEGIC PLAN

Arizona Christian University UNIVERSITY STRATEGIC PLAN Arizona Christian University 2013-2016 UNIVERSITY STRATEGIC PLAN ABOUT ARIZONA CHRISTIAN UNIVERSITY In June 1960, a new institution of higher learning was officially founded under the leadership of pastors

More information

DFE Number: 318/3315 URN Number: Headteacher: Mrs C. Moreland Chair of Governors: Mrs. D. Long

DFE Number: 318/3315 URN Number: Headteacher: Mrs C. Moreland Chair of Governors: Mrs. D. Long St. Edmund s Catholic Primary School Nelson Road, Whitton, Twickenham, Middlesex. TW2 7BB Telephone: 020 8894 7898 e-mail address: info@st-edmunds.richmond.sch.uk DFE Number: 318/3315 URN Number: 102912

More information

Session 3: Campfires and Covenants

Session 3: Campfires and Covenants Session 3: Campfires and Covenants Purposes - To continue making connections among all group members o Corollary: If you haven t already established work crews, the campfire conversations can help provide

More information

Site Coach & Ministry Coach Handbook Pathways School of Ministry

Site Coach & Ministry Coach Handbook Pathways School of Ministry 2017-2018 Site Coach & Ministry Coach Handbook Pathways School of Ministry Introduction As a Site Coach or a Ministry Coach you are an indispensable part of the Pathways team. Our students will discover

More information

VHS COMMITTEE DESCRIPTIONS

VHS COMMITTEE DESCRIPTIONS VHS COMMITTEE DESCRIPTIONS The following descriptions are designed to aid you in selecting and completing your area of service as a member of Valley Home Schoolers, Inc. and to help you become familiar

More information

PUTTING A STAMP ON YOUR WORLD Week 2: Egocentric Leadership vs. Equipping Servant Leaders 1. LEADER PREPARATION

PUTTING A STAMP ON YOUR WORLD Week 2: Egocentric Leadership vs. Equipping Servant Leaders 1. LEADER PREPARATION PUTTING A STAMP ON YOUR WORLD Week 2: Egocentric Leadership vs. Equipping Servant Leaders This includes: 1. Leader Preparation 2. Lesson Guide 1. LEADER PREPARATION LESSON OVERVIEW Egocentric or self-centered

More information

Holy Cross High School. Strategic Plan

Holy Cross High School. Strategic Plan Holy Cross High School Strategic Plan 2O15-2O19 Holy Cross Mission Statement Holy Cross High School, in the tradition of Angela Merici and Bishop David and sponsored by the Archdiocese of Louisville, is

More information

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 of 19 TABLE OF CONTENTS Introduction 2 Launching Adopt-A-Block: Step 1; Pick a Central Location 3 Step 2; Survey a Three Block Radius of the Central Location 4 Step 3; Launch Adopt-A-Block at Central

More information

Experience God by engaging in Coptic culture, prayer, liturgy, rites and fasting through interactions within the College community

Experience God by engaging in Coptic culture, prayer, liturgy, rites and fasting through interactions within the College community Vision Statement St Mark s Coptic Orthodox College is a school that works in partnership with parents to create an atmosphere where Christian values and Coptic Orthodox tradition are the foundation of

More information

VBS VOLUNTEER POSITIONS

VBS VOLUNTEER POSITIONS We are looking for volunteers who are Dependable and faith filled Enthusiastic about working with children Excited about helping at VBS Patient and kind VBS VOLUNTEER POSITIONS Many hands make light work.

More information

Coaching Ministry Leaders

Coaching Ministry Leaders Coaching Ministry Leaders By David Stiles A Workbook for Coaches Coaching Ministry Leaders by David Stiles A Workbook for Coaches About the Author David Stiles works as a writer and consultant for churches

More information

Friendship September nd -3 rd

Friendship September nd -3 rd Friendship September 2017 2 nd -3 rd Friends FORGIVE One Another Week 3 Friendship September 16-17, 2017 2 nd -3 rd OVERVIEW Bible Story: Forgive one another Colossians 3:13; John 21:1-17 (Supporting:

More information

ASKING POWERFUL QUESTIONS

ASKING POWERFUL QUESTIONS ASKING POWERFUL QUESTIONS Caring comes first, confrontation follows. A context of caring can be created when a person is truly for another, genuinely concerned about another, authentically related to another.

More information

SF104: Developing Your Spiritual Life

SF104: Developing Your Spiritual Life COURSE SYLLABUS VALIDATED STUDY OPTION SF104: Developing Your Spiritual Life Our Daily Bread Christian University FastTrax Course About This Course This is a FastTrax course, which covers the essentials

More information

Having a Mary Spirit

Having a Mary Spirit Having a Mary Spirit Book-Only Study Option Overview Though it is ideal for study participants to have both a copy of Having a Mary Spirit: Allowing God to Change Us from the Inside Out and the companion

More information

St. Joseph s Catholic High School. School Prospectus. Business & Enterprise College. St. Joseph s Catholic High School

St. Joseph s Catholic High School. School Prospectus. Business & Enterprise College. St. Joseph s Catholic High School St. Joseph s Catholic High School Business & Enterprise College Founded in 1929 St. Joseph s Catholic High School Business & Enterprise College Harrington Road, Workington, Cumbria CA14 3EE Tel: (01900)

More information

Blessed Teresa of Calcutta Catholic School. Learning Plan

Blessed Teresa of Calcutta Catholic School. Learning Plan Mission * As Catholic teachers, we uphold our faith commitment to our students and our teaching. We celebrate spirituality and diversity in the values of achieving, believing and community living in our

More information

January Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday. 2 off Good Samaritan Snowman Bingo. 7-8pm

January Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday. 2 off Good Samaritan Snowman Bingo. 7-8pm January 2017 2 off 3 4 5 6 7 1Feast Mary Mother of God Happy New Year! 8 Epiphany HS night 7-8pm 15 16 22 FC Babysitting 8am- 9:15am Evening of Prayer for Life 7pm chapel 29 Parent/Student Confirmation

More information

HEAD OF SCHOOL OPPORTUNITY PROFILE MISSION STATEMENT VISION STATEMENT. For the Position of

HEAD OF SCHOOL OPPORTUNITY PROFILE MISSION STATEMENT VISION STATEMENT. For the Position of OPPORTUNITY PROFILE For the Position of HEAD OF SCHOOL MISSION STATEMENT God has called Trinity Christian Academy to assist Christian families and their churches in providing a Biblically-directed, academically

More information

RED BIRD MISSION WORK CAMP 70 Queendale Center Beverly, KY Phone: Fax:

RED BIRD MISSION WORK CAMP 70 Queendale Center Beverly, KY Phone: Fax: 2015 INFORMATION PACKET RED BIRD MISSION WORK CAMP 70 Queendale Center Beverly, KY 40913 Phone: 606-598-5133 Fax: 606-598-0906 E-Mail: Workcamp@rbmission.org Earl Hampton ehampton@rbmission.org Work Camp

More information

Welcome to CBC Fremantle. Year 7 Information Evening

Welcome to CBC Fremantle. Year 7 Information Evening Welcome to CBC Fremantle Year 7 Information Evening Principal Mr Shaun Kenny Tonight s programme Mr Shaun Kenny Principal Opening prayer and introduction Our Vision: The Journey Document Mr Patrick Ryan

More information

Mission-Vision-Objectives Created in January 2015

Mission-Vision-Objectives Created in January 2015 7869 Kingswood Drive Citrus Heights, CA 95610 Phone: 916.961.7891 Fax: 916.961.5034 Website: school.stmarkslutheran.com Mission-Vision-Objectives Created in January 2015 Mission Statement St. Mark s lives

More information

TEAM TRAINING MATERIAL

TEAM TRAINING MATERIAL ? TEAM TRAINING MATERIAL Team training - version 1 One simple way to use as a training tool is to give a copy of the book to each member of your team. Ask them to read a chapter at a time; then meet together

More information

Rainforests Year 3/4 Summer Term

Rainforests Year 3/4 Summer Term Rainforests Year 3/4 Summer Term Geography We are going to develop our geography skills by using an atlas and the internet to explore Rainforest regions. We will also be looking at the tropical climates

More information

Leaving A Legacy. Jim Rohn s Twelfth Pillar of Success: Part Three. 644 One-Year Success Plan 2010 Jim Rohn International

Leaving A Legacy. Jim Rohn s Twelfth Pillar of Success: Part Three. 644 One-Year Success Plan 2010 Jim Rohn International Leaving A Legacy Jim Rohn s Twelfth Pillar of Success: Part Three 644 One-Year Success Plan 2010 Jim Rohn International Week 50 Hello, and welcome to Week 50 of The Jim Rohn One-Year Success Plan. This

More information

PREPARATION FOR MINISTRY HANDBOOK

PREPARATION FOR MINISTRY HANDBOOK PRESBYTERY OF GREAT RIVERS PREPARATION FOR MINISTRY HANDBOOK Adopted August 4, 2011 VERSION 2.O Adopted August 4, 2011 Page 2 of 25 TABLE OF CONTENTS SECTION ONE - AN OVERVIEW OF THE PROCESS I. Key Concepts...

More information

--. THE MANAGEMENT AND ORGANISATION OF RELIGIOUS EDUCATION IN THE CATHOLIC SCHOOL

--. THE MANAGEMENT AND ORGANISATION OF RELIGIOUS EDUCATION IN THE CATHOLIC SCHOOL --. THE MANAGEMENT AND ORGANISATION OF RELIGIOUS EDUCATION IN THE CATHOLIC SCHOOL THE TASK OF THE CATHOLIC SCHOOL "The task of the Catholic school is fundamentally a synthesis of learning and faith and

More information