Year 12 Legal Studies Work rate calendar (WRC) 2019 Term 1

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Year 12 Legal Studies Work rate calendar (WRC) 2019 Term 1"

Transcription

1 Work rate calendar (WRC) 2019 Term 1 Summative 1 28 Jan 1 Feb 1 Monday 28 January Australia Day Holiday Topic 1: Family Law Introduction to Family law: what is family? 2 4 Feb 8 Feb 1 Topic 1: Family Law Defining Marriage, Dissolution of Marriage: fault vs. no fault divorce, grounds for divorce in Australia. Read pp and of your textbook Feb 15 Feb 1 Topic 1: Family Law Disputes concerning children when marriage breaks down: disputes concerning children in court. Read pp , of your textbook Feb 22 Feb 1 Topic 1: Family Law Disputes concerning property when marriage breaks down: child support. Read pp of your textbook. Diagnostic 3.1 Due by Thursday 21 February 5 25 Feb 1 Mar 1 Topic 1: Family Law Families and Children: What is domestic violence? Read pp of your textbook. 6 4 Mar 8 Mar 1 Topic 1: Family Law Families and Children: How does the law protect children and survivors of domestic violence? Read pp of your textbook. SUMMATIVE 3.1 Extended Response Exam (unsupervised) Due by Monday 4 March 7 11 Mar 15 Mar 1 Topic 1: Family Law Essay Exam Preparation Diagnostic 3.2 Due by Thursday 14 March 8 18 Mar 22 Mar 1 Topic 1: Family Law Family Law Revision Diagnostic Feedback 9 25 Mar 29 Mar 2 Exam block All week Introduction to Civil Wrongs (torts): What is a tort? Different types of torts, civil law vs. criminal law. SUMMATIVE 3.2 Extended Response to Stimulus Exam (supervised) Due by 5pm Tuesday 26 March 10 1 Apr 5 Apr 2 Negligence: the neighbour principle. Read pp of Woodgate Vol.1 (7 th ed.) (Available School holidays Page 1 Monday 28 January Australia Day Holiday; Friday 19 April Good Friday; Monday 22 April Easter Monday Saturday 6 April to Monday 22 April

2 Work rate calendar (WRC) 2019 Term 2 Summative 1 22 Apr 26 Apr 2 Monday 22 April Easter Monday Thursday 25 April Anzac Day The first element of negligence: duty of care. Read pp of Woodgate Vol.1 (7 th ed.) (Available 2 29 Apr 3 May 3 6 May 10 May 4 13 May 17 May 2 Second element of negligence: breach of duty. Read pp of Woodgate Vol.1 (7 th ed.) (Available 2 Monday 6 May Labour Day Tuesday 7 May to Friday 10 May Camp: Maroon Outdoor Education Centre Third element of negligence: damage caused by breach of duty. Read pp of Woodgate Vol.1 (7 th ed.) (Available 2 Remedies: damages. Read pp of Woodgate Vol.1 (7 th ed.) 5 20 May 24 May 6 27 May 31 May 7 3 Jun 7 Jun 2 Defences to a negligence action: contributory negligence & volenti non fit injuria Read pp of Woodgate Vol.1 (7 th ed.) 2 How to Answer a Theory Question 2 Negligence Revision Diagnostic 3.3 due by Friday 24 May 8 10 Jun 14 Jun 9 17 Jun 21 Jun 2 All week Exam block: Applied essential subjects only Negligence Revision Introduce assignment & examine some topical issues. SUMMATIVE 3.3 Response to Stimulus (unsupervised) Due by 5pm Friday 14 June Page 2

3 10 24 Jun 28 Jun Choose topic & start researching School holidays Page 3 Monday 22 April Easter Monday; Thursday 25 April Anzac Day; Monday 6 May Labour Day Saturday 29 June to Sunday 14 July

4 Work rate calendar (WRC) 2019 Term 3 Summative 1 15 Jul 19 Jul Drafting a hypothesis Developing working questions 2 22 Jul 26 Jul 3 29 Jul 2 Aug 4 5 Aug 9 Aug 5 12 Aug 16 Aug 6 19 Aug 23 Aug 7 26 Aug 30 Aug 8 2 Sep 6 Sep 9 9 Sep 13 Sep Sep 20 Sep Research skills: finding, reading & evaluating sources. Note-taking Revise a sample report Legal Writing & Referencing Developing recommendations In-class work on diagnostic. 3 Wednesday 14 August Ekka Show Holiday Topic 3: Independent Inquiry Improving on a draft Refine thesis & continue working on report. Refine thesis & continue working on report. Evaluating dispute resolution mechanisms Features and challenges of International Law What are the sources of international law? Read pp of your textbook. 4 All week Exam block Topic 4: International Law How does the legal system resolve International Disputes? Read pp of your textbook. Global environment: International & Domestic Protection Introduce S4.2 Read pp of your textbook. SUMMATIVE 4.1 Research Log (Hypothesis & Working Questions) due by Monday 22 July SUMMATIVE 4.1 Draft Due by Friday 9 August SUMMATIVE 4.1 Extended Research Response (Final Report) Due by 5pm Wednesday 28 August Page 4

5 Work rate calendar (WRC) 2019 Term Oct 11 Oct 2 Monday 7 October Queen s Birthday Holiday Teacher information Friday 11 October SET planning interview day Topic 4: International Law Global environment: Essay resources Drafting and Referencing Summative SUMMATIVE 4.2 Draft Due by Friday 11 October 2 14 Oct 18 Oct 2 Topic 4: International Law General Draft Feedback 3 21 Oct 25 Oct 2 Monday 21 October Staff professional development day Topic 3: Negligence and Duty of Care Duty of Care Professional Liability and Schools SUMMATIVE 4.2 Extended Research Response Due by 5pm Thursday 24 October 4 28 Oct 1 Nov Nov 8 Nov Nov 15 Nov Nov 22 Nov 8 25 Nov 29 Nov 9 2 Dec 6 Dec 10 9 Dec 13 Dec Monday 7 October Queen s Birthday Holiday School holidays Saturday 14 December 2019 to Monday 27 January 2020 Staff professional development day Monday 21 October Page 5